A strong impact seminar

 

Management or team seminar is the predominant technique used by firms to share messages, priorities and bring common action plan to the foreground.

Depending on the circumstances, different aspects can be integrated: motivational session, open-mindedness interventions, empowerment workshops for the different actors, discovery courses to communicate about innovations and the code of good practices.

No matter how carefully we plan the group’s dynamic and the quality of the speakers, it will not necessarily make participants say «this seminar changed our trajectory, we can note there is a before and an after ».

For a seminar to make a mark on everyone’s mind and change its participants’ behaviour :

  • Firstly, it is critical that the topics covered to supply an answer to a need or desire, and not only reflect the organiser’s choice based on his/her own priorities,
  • Secondly, everyone must be considered, have the ability to express their opinions and feel that their voice truly matters in the construction of a common project,
  • Finally, everyone must be stimulated in order to broaden their own approach and leave with more insights that when they came in with.

Without this aspect of concrete usefulness, participants could surely be satisfied from spending a nice day together, but this feeling will quickly fade away and the seminar’s impact will be minimal. Regardless of its efficiency, a seminar is expensive.

Prior preparation, by collecting questions to solve and success conditions, and launching the seminar, by sharing some of the content to focus the exchange on, are two valuable pre-conditions for the seminar to have a real impact.

Reminding the decisions and engagements taken and collecting the challenges that were faced are the best ways to ensure that seminar was useful and the importance to put in practice what was learned.

However, in reality :

  • Most of the time seminars’ agenda are created without considering the participants’ day to day work and starts from the ground up, sometimes repeating discussions and questioning that have already occurred but which participants’ forgot about because they weren’t implemented.
  • The shared understanding of the topics is not clearly set during the seminar, it is assumed that all the participants have a common understanding, as if a communication misunderstanding couldn’t occur.
  • Teamwork’s inputs, written on paper-boards or post-its, are rarely explored beyond a possible reconstruction session, which is often minimal.
  • The primary goal is the convergence of speeches, and seldom its diversity and enrichment.
  • Participants leave the seminar having evaluated the different sessions as a bystander, no personalised action plan was created and it would be for the best if anyone acted upon it.

By creating a seminar protocol from a questioning and using the facilitative digital support of Talk4, we allow every participant to be proactive, stimulated, establish a before/after change and to keep and analyse the acquired data.

talk4 is not a animation tool, it is an accelerating approach of a common engagement serving a concrete action.

Contact us

Un séminaire à fort impact

 

Le séminaire de management ou d’équipes est la méthode la plus utilisée dans les entreprises pour partager des messages, des priorités ou faire émerger des plans d’actions communs.

Selon les circonstances, on y intègre plus ou moins certains ingrédients: des séances pour motiver, des interventions pour ouvrir les esprits, des ateliers pour rendre chacun acteur, des parcours ‘découverte’ pour informer sur des innovations ou des bonnes pratiques.

Quelque soit le soin que l’on attache à l’animation du groupe et à la qualité des intervenants, ce n’est pas forcément ce qui fera que les participants se diront ensuite: ce séminaire a changé notre trajectoire, il y a eu un avant et un après.

Pour qu’un séminaire marque les esprits et changent les comportements de ses participants :

  • Il faut d’abord que les sujets qui y sont traités répondent à un besoin ou une envie, et ne soient pas seulement le choix de l’organisateur raisonnant à partir de ses propres priorités,
  • il faut ensuite que chacun soit considéré, qu’il ou elle ait une capacité à s’y exprimer et perçoive que sa voix va compter vraiment dans la construction de quelque chose de commun,
  • il faut enfin que chacun soit stimulé pour ouvrir sa propre perspective et reparte avec plus.

Sans cette dimension essentielle d’utilité réelle, les participants pourront certes être satisfaits d’avoir passé une journée agréable ensemble, mais l’effet s’estompera rapidement et l’impact sur l’activité sera minimale. Or un séminaire est un exercice coûteux.

Préparer ensemble avant en collectant les questions à résoudre et les conditions de succès, partir lancés en partageant une partie du contenu pour ne garder en séance que l’échange, sont des préalables précieux pour que l’impact du séminaire soit réel.

Et puis rappeler plus tard les décisions et les engagements, collecter les problèmes rencontrés est quand même la meilleure façon de dire que ce que l’on a fait est utile et donc que l’on tient à sa mise en oeuvre.

Or dans la vraie vie :

  • La plupart des agendas des séminaires sont produits sans se préoccuper de l’actualité des participants et bien souvent en repartant d’une feuille blanche, quitte à reproduire des échanges qui ont déjà eu lieu la fois d’avant, et que l’on a oubliés parce qu’ils ont été sans suite.
  • On ne vérifie pas la compréhension commune des sujets partagés lors du séminaire, on la présuppose, comme si l’on ne savait pas l’écart entre l’émis et le reçu en communication.
  • Les productions des groupes de travail, sur paper-board ou post-it sont rarement exploitées au delà de la restitution que l’on peut faire en séance, qui est bien souvent minimale.
  • L’objectif majeur est la convergence du discours, plus rarement sa diversité et donc son enrichissement.
  • Les participants repartent en ayant évalué les différentes séances du séminaire en spectateur, aucun plan d’action personnalisé n’est construit et tant mieux si quelqu’un passe à l’acte après.

En construisant un protocole de séminaire à partir d’un questionnement et de la facilitation digitale de talk4, on se donne les moyens de faire vraiment participer chaque participant, de stimuler sa réflexion, et d’établir un avant et un après le séminaire, de conserver les données et de pouvoir les analyser.

talk4 n’est pas un outil d’animation, c’est une démarche d’accélération de l’engagement de tous au service d’une action bien réelle.

Contactez-nous
2018-08-24T14:06:42+00:00