Close-ended question, limited question

In a scale to 1 to 5, how do you evaluate your mood today ? Here is a well-thought close-ended question. At this point, you could juste ask to answer green light for good and red light for bad.

Close-ended questions are useful to collect a factual information or when we want to follow a trend. They have the urge advantage to be really easy to analyse, that’s why we prefer to use it, even if we use it too much.

But, they have 2 big limits :

1- Because they are closed-ended question, we can know why the participant answer the particular answer. But, when the aim of the question is important, we have to look for the cause, regarding the risk to not recover the information when it will be obsolete.

2- We are stuck in a limited environment of analysis. Sure, I determined the impacting factors of my customers’ satisfaction, I ask them about these subjects regarding the risk to miss a new subject or a weak signal which could be important in the future.

Before launching a survey, it’s really important to ask yourself what is the limits of the answers that you will have.

While the time fly fast, there’s not point on having answers which were useful yesterday.

Think about the time that you take from your participants : don’t waste it !

Contact us

Question fermée, question limitée.

Sur une échelle de 1 à 5, comment estimez vous votre humeur aujourd’hui? Voilà une question fermée sophistiquée, puisque l’on aurait pu juste demander de choisir entre vert = bien, rouge = mal.

Les questions fermées sont utiles pour collecter une information factuelle ou lorsque l’on veut suivre une tendance. Elles ont l’immense avantage d’être faciles à exploiter, c’est pour cela qu’on les aime tant, au risque d’en abuser.

Elles ont néanmoins 2 grandes limites:

1- par structure, elles ne disent rien sur le pourquoi d’une réponse. Dès que celle-ci est signifiante parce que hors de la norme attendue, il faut en chercher la cause, au risque de ne récupérer cette information que lorsqu’elle sera devenue obsolète.

2- on reste dans un cadre fermé d’analyse. J’ai déterminé a priori les facteurs de satisfaction de mes clients, je les interroge sur ces thèmes au risque de passer totalement à coté d’un nouveau sujet, ou d’un signal faible.

Avant de lancer une enquête, il est donc important de s’interroger sur les limites des réponses que l’on va obtenir.

Le temps va vite, avoir des réponses pour hier ne sert pas à grand chose.

Et le temps d’attention de ceux que l’on interroge est précieux, ne le gaspillons pas!

Contactez-nous

2018-08-24T15:24:26+00:00