NLP SPACE
“Natural Language Processing”

Natural language processing is a discipline of artificial intelligence. It covers the understanding and the generation of words, ‘as a human would do’ from the perspective of a particular use: automatic translation, speech recognition, chatbot generation, identification of feelings, or text ranking which is the subject of application of talk4.

Each of these applications uses different algorithmic techniques, but here are some basic concepts relevant to all:

Tokenization and standardization:

These are 2 steps prior to processing a text or sentence. The ‘Tokenization’ is to cut a text into smaller components: a text is cut into a sentence, a sentence is cut into words to better treat them later.

Normalization consists of expurging sentences, punctuation, abbreviations, digits, etc., in order to be able to apply numerical modeling.

During these pretreatment stages of the texts, one also excludes the ‘stop-words’ for example the articles which does not bring anything to the logic of the sentence.

Stemming or Lemmatization:

These 2 techniques consist of finding the root of a word. The stemming merely eliminates the prefixes, suffixes, conjugated forms, etc., where the lemmatization will focus on finding the root word from a derived form (better vs good).

Corpus:

A set of texts that will be used for learning or testing. A corpus can be thematic or significant of a linguistic subset on which we will make an apprenticeship.

Language modelization : formal or digital

It is a question of representing a word or a sentence by a numerical ‘value’, so then can carry out mathematical or statistical treatments which will generate the expected results. Several types of modeling have been explored by NLP researchers according to the types of applications. For simplicity, there are 2 big schools:

  • Modelization of relations between words and their representation in a formal way in the form of graphs.
  • Modelization of characters, words or texts in the form of vectors and multidimensional matrices

Machine learning:

It is an artificial intelligence program based on numerical optimization techniques, which has identified a ‘pattern’ from the data analysis done during a learning, will be able to apply it to new data of same nature, but never met.

Supervised learning and unsupervised learning :

Machine learning methods used for the development of Machine learning programs. Learning is said to be supervised when it applies to a set of selected data because they are characteristic of what one seeks to reproduce. It is unsupervised when learning is done on data that we do not know a priori.

Contact us

LE COIN DU NLP
« Natural Language Processing » en Anglais ou « Analyse sémantique en langage naturel » en Français

Le traitement du langage naturel est une discipline de l’intelligence artificielle. Elle recouvre la compréhension et la génération de parole, ‘telles que le ferait un humain’ dans la perspective d’un usage particulier: la traduction automatique, la reconnaissance de la parole, la génération de chatbots, l’identification des sentiments, ou le classement de textes qui est le sujet d’application de talk4.

Chacune de ces applications fait appel à des techniques algorithmiques différentes, néanmoins voilà quelques notions de base pertinentes pour toutes:

Tokenisation et normalisation:

Ce sont 2 étapes préalables au traitement d’un texte ou d’une phrase. La ‘Tokenization’ consiste à découper un texte en composants plus petits: un texte est découpé en phrase , une phrase est découpée en mots pour pouvoir mieux les traiter ensuite.

La normalisation consiste à expurger d’une phrase les erreurs, la ponctuation, les abréviations, les chiffres, etc.. pour pouvoir ensuite lui appliquer une modélisation numérique.

Lors de ces étapes de prétraitement des textes, on exclut également les ‘stop-words’ par exemple les articles qui n’apporte rien à la logique de la phrase.

Stemming ou Lemmatization:

Ces 2 techniques consistent à trouver la racine d’un mot. Le stemming se contente d’éliminer les préfixes, suffixes, formes conjuguées etc, là où la lemmatization va s’attacher à retrouver la racine du mot à partir d’une forme dérivée (mieux vs bien).

Corpus:

Un ensemble de textes qui va être utilisé pour les apprentissages ou les tests. Un corpus peut être thématique ou significatif d’un sous ensemble linguistique sur lequel on va faire un apprentissage.

Modélisation du langage : formelle ou numérique

Il s’agit de représenter un mot ou une phrase par une ‘valeur’ numérique, de façon à ensuite pouvoir effectuer ensuite des traitements mathématiques ou statistiques qui vont générer les résultats attendus. Plusieurs types de modélisation ont été explorés par les chercheurs en NLP selon les types applications. Pour simplifier, il existe 2 grandes écoles:

  • la modélisation des relations entre les mots et leur représentation de façon formelle sous forme de graphes.
  • la modélisation de caractères, mots ou textes sous forme de vecteurs et de matrices à plusieurs dimensions

Machine learning:

C’est un programme d’intelligence artificielle basé sur des techniques d’optimisation numérique, qui ayant identifié un ‘pattern’ à partir de l’analyse de données faite lors d’un apprentissage, va pouvoir l’appliquer à de nouvelles données de même nature, mais jamais rencontrées.

Apprentissage supervisé, non supervisé :

Méthodes d’apprentissage automatique utilisées pour la mise au point de programmes de Machine learning. L’apprentissage est dit supervisé quand il s’applique sur un ensemble de données sélectionnées parce qu’elles sont caractéristiques de ce que l’on cherche à reproduire. Il est non supervisé lorsque l’apprentissage se fait sur des données que l’on ne connait pas a priori.

Contactez-nous

2018-08-24T15:47:35+00:00